The Banat (Bannat) is a geographical and historical region of Central Europe currently divided between three countries: the eastern part lies in Romania (the counties of Timis, Caras-Severin, Arad, and Mehedinti), the western part in Serbia (the Serbian Banat, mostly included in the Vojvodina region, except for a small part included in Central Serbia), and a small northern part in Hungary.

The Banat is a part of the Pannonian plain bordered by the River Danube to the south, the River Tisza (Theiss, Tissa, Tisa) to the west, the River Mures to the north, and the Southern Carpathian mountains to the east. Its historical capital was Timisoara (Hungarian: Temesvar, Serbian: Temisvar), now in Timis county in Romania.

More information may be found at